in ,

Giorgiko x VINS Dear Wonder

Over the past couple months you’ve seen the teasers, well now its time for LA-based husband-and-wife artist team Darren and Trisha Inouye behind Giorgiko to present to you Dear Wonder. Giorgiko first 3-dimensional work and was created in collaboration with VINS.  Dear Wonder brings our dearest character Wonder into the world in a new way.  She stands upon a mound, gazing into the distance as the wind blows her hair.  Behind her, she holds a precious treasure.

White polystone and a high-gloss finish give this piece weight and refinement that perfectly capture the simple, precious, and subtle shapes that Giorgiko characters are known for.  For a long time, it has been our dream to bring Giorgiko characters into the 3D world, and the Dear Wonder sculpture is the first step into many more exciting ways to experience the Giorgiko Universe.  –  Giorgiko

Polystone art sculpture with high gloss finish, 2021
Created in collaboration with VINS.

Edition of 100 + 10 AP’s
Comes in wood collector’s box with signed COA.

WHEN: Available Tuesday, February 2nd 2021

  • Los Angeles: Tue 2/2, 7am
  • New York: Tue 2/2, 10am
  • London: Tue 2/2, 3pm
  • Paris: Tue 2/2, 4pm
  • Taipei: Tue 2/2, 11pm
  • Tokyo: Wed 2/3, 12am

WHERE: www.vinsarts.com

About

Giorgiko (pronounced jee-OR-jee-koh) is the product of a collaborative experiment between Darren and Trisha Inouye melding minimal, expressive character illustration with large-scale classical painting.  Conceived in 2012, the Giorgiko universe is home to lost boys and wayfaring girls, and explores the stories of their wanderings and their dreams of being found again.  Urban and classical youth are portrayed in city and nature scenes as part of their journeys through the world.

The husband-and-wife team first met while studying art at ArtCenter College of Design in Pasadena, California.  Darren was attracted to Trisha’s authenticity and quirkiness, while Trisha was drawn to Darren’s dashingly good looks.  Trisha hails from a Korean immigrant family in the San Francisco Bay area and was noticed at an early age for her talent in drawing.  She brings a cuteness and sweet innocence to Giorgiko’s characters.  Meanwhile, Darren is a 4th generation Japanese-American from Los Angeles who fell in love with hip hop dancing and graffiti in his youth, and the underground influence is evident throughout the Giorgiko universe.  Darren and Trisha’s work blends street and cute to create relatable images for wanderers of all ages.

Darren and Trisha are co-directors of Rainbow Art, where they teach foundational visual art skills to 130 children and adult students on a weekly basis. They are also parents to identical twin boys who keep the young artists occupied with finger foods and baby babble.  Their greatest accomplishment to date is keeping their children alive.

Follow our their story at @giorgiko.la

Social Media Links:  www.instagram.com/giorgiko.la

                                 www.facebook.com/giorgiko.la

You can get your daily Designer Toy fix from our TTC Mobile App. It’s free too! FREE! Download on the iPhone or Android smartphones. Search for “The Toy Chronicle” and all your Designer Toy wishes will come true! Pretty much.

Did we fail to mention IT’s FREE.

ttc-mobile-app-iphone-main
ttc-mobile-app-google-main

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

What do you think?

TTC Legend

Written by Andy

A Yellow guy with bad English who's a chef by trade but addicted to toys and art. Instagram nutter rambling food addict who likes to take photos of everything I eat (most Asians do right?) Please don't class me as a journalist or blogger, more on the lines of talent scout and always backs the little guy.

Instagram ( BigToyPoo)
(SushiKingUK)
I am that one dickhead too.

ArtiqFox’s Spark-ling the fire wispling, spirit clear holographic Edition

D A V I D _ I O N I C . S T L by SixFootTurkey Toys